top of page

The Voice of Color



"I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn't say any other way- things I had no words for." - Georgia O'KeeffeI love this quote by Georgia O'Keeffe. While I adore finely written books with a grandiose spectrum of vocabulary and wordplay, I truly find that I best express myself through my medium of paint. Quotes like the one above are great. But you can only say things with art when you are inspired. I don't always feel inspired. As an artist this is killer to my creativity. No life inside, no life to the canvas. How does an artist get out of this funk? Moments of peace, bliss, and tranquility. Getting these moments, however, are difficult in this day and age of 2019. (Especially when you are mom of a 4 yr old and 2 yr old. Even now I am working amidst arguing and fussing). Give yourself moments of peace by popping in earbuds and listening to a favorite song, some nature sounds, or even white noise. Step outside for a few minutes and breathe deep. Sit and focus on the deep, dark hue of your coffee or tea; focus on the warmth of the cup. Read a few pages of a good book. Thank God for the day and that you are alive to make a difference within your scope of the world. Once the chaos of your mind has calmed (even if the chaos around you has not!) you will see the beauty of life once again. It's this beauty that brings inspiration, and this inspiration that brings a desire to express a response. My response is not poetry or prose, but paint. Some may want a photo, some may want to cook, some may want to write, some may want to crochet, and some may want to decorate, but I express my love for beauty of this world by painting. TLDR: I express my response to the beauty of the world by painting; to get to this place I must find peace before I get my inspiration from the beauty.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page